Learning To Know God’s Will

They will say I have prayed about it, and God has lead me to believe this?  I sense the same thing as having a “gut feeling.”

Someone else will say. “I get my decision about what is God’s will from reading the Bible?

One person pointed out:

  • Most people I know who talk about God speaking to them through the Bible are really talking about either the same kind of “gut feelings” (maybe just the frozen pizza or maybe it really is the Holy Spirit) or their own desires, shellacked with a few vague phrases from a Psalm here, a Proverb there.

Are you saying that the Bible alone TELLS us that this is how God now speaks? Or is our decisions also  is of an opinion from an extra-biblical source?

HOW DO KNOW IF GOD IS REALLY SPEAKING TO YOU ABOUT AN IMPORTANT DECISION.

I believe that Scripture provides for us a cornerstone  for how we have to shape our thinking about God.  To know the theology of God is the basis of  doing what God want  us to do.

The work of spiritual regeneration, or  salvation, by the Holy Spirit to enlighten a sinner’s blinded mind to think God’s thoughts and provide a person with the ability to now be lighten to the will of God.

“God provides for us through the teaching of Scripture those principles we use to renew our minds or what we could also define as “retraining” our minds to think godly thoughts rather than worldly thoughts.” Fred Bulter.

So when I am teaching the Word of God, I am hopeful providing the principles of God to enable us to know God’s will and direction for our lives.

Hopeful as we learn these principles, we will be filled with the Holy Spirit.  Therein “the desires of our heart” comes into play.

When I was a teenager, and I got into the Word, there was this desire that I wanted to preach and teach the Word of God.

I needed to trust the Spirit to be giving me the right desires as I was making life’s decisions.

We need to trust the Spirit to be giving us the right desires as we are filled with the knowledge of God’s revealed Word.

We then apply that knowledge to the desires we regularly experience, so as to make wise, biblically informed decisions.

God’s providence takes care of the blind spots we may not necessarily “see” when we are acting with faith upon our biblically informed decisions.

I wanted to attend seminary, (at that time in my life I really didn’t know what kind of seminary I should attend) I really didn’t go with my “gut feeling.” Nor was it really with a lot of prayer.  It really wasn’t a highly spiritual decision.  I knew my hearts desire was to learning how to preach and learning His word.

I have never really said, “Well, it’s my gut feeling.”  There has really never been a mystical experience either in my decisions.

Come to think about it, most of my decisions have been really based on the desire to preach, teach, train,  and serve the Lord.

How do you make decisions?  Base it on a firm knowledge of God.  Learn the best you can the  principles  of being a Christian.  Stay filled with the presence of the Holy Spirit. Talk to Christ in prayer.  Listen to those who are spiritually connect with the Lord, and know the Word of God.

I believe the Lord must have given me the desires to preach and teach.  I acted upon that with confidence. I continue to seek to learn.

About Charles e Whisnant

Youth Pastor since 1964.Pastor/Teacher 1971-74, 1980-2001, 2008-2015. Seminary, College, On line training, 50 years of study. A student of of the Bible. Expositional in my teaching. Married for 45 years. Four children and three granddaughter. Currently pastor - teacher in Minford, Ohio. No published books. No TV program. Favorite preachers Spurgeon, Calvin, MacArthur, Lloyd-Jones, Packer, Edwards, Baxter, Puritans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

