Sermon Preparation Early Years 1962-1966

Do I know how to prepare a sermon? I have being trying since I was about 16 I guess.  I wanted to preach in my Dad’s church at Roanoke Baptist Temple in Roanoke Va. I guess back in high school. 10th grade.  I had really no clue for sure.  I knew I wanted to talk about a subject that I had read in a book. And I wanted to tell the people in the church.  I was no Charles Spurgeon at 16 that is for sure. cwhisna.blogspot.com

But that does not mean I have not tried to learn.  I started teaching the Youth at RBC in 1963 and the first lessons were from Psalms and then Revelation.  Those were the two books in the Bible I had been studying.

Dad had a great library at the house, plus he had a Christian bookstore.  I had plenty of books to read and study. Of course that is what I believed you were to do for sermon preparation.

There was no websites to go do to find good material on sermon preparations you know.

Good sermons were found in hearing Wayne Martin or Raymond Barber, or Gene Arnold, or Billy Martin preach. I took a lot of outlines by those preachers.  I have preached about every one of them too.

Dad would take me to Fellowship Meetings and I would take notes of the preachers that was preaching, and I have done that now for ever.

As I said “When better sermons are printed I will preach them.”  And that was true.  Lee Robertson had a sermon each week in his paper. Some of the best sermons I preached was in that paper.

Oh how I had wished I had learned to prepare a sermon from the start.  But that I didn’t in those early years. After all Fundamental Baptist Preachers just get up at preach without any preparation.

From my old Scofield Bible 1945 addition, I had back in 1960.

I loved to study.  I read the Bible every day since the year 1960 when I grandmother Whisnant gave me $5 to read the Bible.

I always took notes as I read and study.

I always put notes in my Bible, there was not a page that I did not mark a verse or write a note.

Photo one:  Notes I typed

Photo Two:  Everette Whisnant sermon

Photo Three: Dad’s Sermon Notes

Photo #4 Lee Roberson sermon

Photo #5 Dad sermon notes

Photo #6 Marked Bible and Notes

Photo #6  Harold Sligher notes

 

About Charles e Whisnant

Youth Pastor since 1964.Pastor/Teacher 1971-74, 1980-2001, 2008-2015. Seminary, College, On line training, 50 years of study. A student of of the Bible. Expositional in my teaching. Married for 45 years. Four children and three granddaughter. Currently pastor - teacher in Minford, Ohio. No published books. No TV program. Favorite preachers Spurgeon, Calvin, MacArthur, Lloyd-Jones, Packer, Edwards, Baxter, Puritans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

