Where Do I Get My Information For My Sermons and Ministry

I have written on this subject before,  several times, as to where I get my information for my sermons and teaching.  I need to line the links to my blogs where I have address this topic.

I have stated I learn from others.  If I were to state all those whom I have learned from and copied from the list would be many.

My early years from 1962 to 1980 I learned from my Dad.  I listen to a lot of preaching and read a lot of books.  My preach reflected the books and preaching I heard.  I tried to mention  to those whom I was preaching that I read a lot and from those the sermons were made.

In 1973 I received a tape by John MacArthur on Ephesians 4:12 and after listening to that message my idea of ministry and preaching changed 100 per cent.

Starting in 1980 when I went to the Shepherd conference at Grace Community Church in Sun Valley CA and then again in 1992 I began to adopt the material that I have learned from the Shepherd Conference

I would say “If you want to know how I would like to preach like, I would say listen to John MacArthur.”  I would say, to the congregation at the church, the material of this sermon is coming from John MacArthur.

Today if I were to mention every quote that I made in a sermon, I would have to quote about ten to twenty references that I use in every sermon.  I don’t do that.  But I have tried to make footnotes in my manuscript to (My Dad Everette Whisnant )            the references that I use.

When I am teaching the book of Romans or Philippians as I am doing now.  I have used John MacArthur’s sermons as starting point, but have used over thirty other references in the preparation of the sermons.

I have adopted a lot of Bill Gothards’s material in to our ministry.  I have used a lot of Jay Adam’s material in our ministry.

So anyone who wants to know, I am not original in my preaching.

 

 

 

About Charles e Whisnant

Youth Pastor since 1964.Pastor/Teacher 1971-74, 1980-2001, 2008-2015. Seminary, College, On line training, 50 years of study. A student of of the Bible. Expositional in my teaching. Married for 45 years. Four children and three granddaughter. Currently pastor - teacher in Minford, Ohio. No published books. No TV program. Favorite preachers Spurgeon, Calvin, MacArthur, Lloyd-Jones, Packer, Edwards, Baxter, Puritans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

