Should My Teaching Be Refected In My Fellowship With Others

Kent  Brendenburg has written a lot on separation.  He believes the Bible teaches separation.  And in his lastest blog, he believes some preachers have made some doctrine minor and some major.  (Please read the blog, its interesting).

In the comment section someone wrote: (please read the entire comment)

“He may be a good teacher but his  practice is more important.”

And I made a comment:

  1. I am not sure about the shirt illustration. Unless the small hole in the shirt represents one’s practice and the whole is what he teaches.
  2. In other words are you saying that if one doesn’t practice what he teaches then there is a flaw in the person or a flaw in his teaching?
  3. Can we teach the Word of God (expositionally) and be correct in the explanation of the text and then not be dogmatic as to the extend of its application?
  4. Are we really hedging on the text if we say its not my intent to make an issue of the application.
  5. Am I really minimizing what I really have conviction about if I don’t push for full compliance to my personal conviction?

 

  1. If I fellowship with a pastor who believes Romans 6;1 is talking about water baptism and I believe its talking about spiritual baptism, would that negate my creditability as to what I believe the text is saying?

If I personally believe in a real 1000 year millennial and so teach that, am I wrong to fellowship with a pastor who is an amillennialists?

  1. Does obedience to God’s Word mean that I do? Romans 6 tells us we should but we don’t.

I believe MacArthur is quite clear about what he teaching when preaching, so do I.  But does this mean that we must be dogmatic when asked what we believe about music and dancing?

  1. So when I am seen at a Shepherd’s Conference I have put a whole in my shirt of creditability?

Should I as a pastor/teacher made ever teaching of the Word of God dogmatic as to its application?  And if some pastor does not agree with my position on a doctrine then should I stop having fellowship with him?

(Of course pastor do that to  me all the time. Few pastors who know me and know my position will have very little fellowship with me, and they would never ask me to preach for them.

I believe all teaching of the Word of God is important. Do I believe some teaching are of more value? Well I would say how one teaching about salvation is more important then how one says you should be baptized. Do I believe in speaking in tongues? No. But does that mean I should be totally dogmatic about the issue on tongues?  Should I attend a conference where they would?  If I did would that negate my teaching about tongues?

 

 

 

About Charles e Whisnant

Youth Pastor since 1964.Pastor/Teacher 1971-74, 1980-2001, 2008-2015. Seminary, College, On line training, 50 years of study. A student of of the Bible. Expositional in my teaching. Married for 45 years. Four children and three granddaughter. Currently pastor - teacher in Minford, Ohio. No published books. No TV program. Favorite preachers Spurgeon, Calvin, MacArthur, Lloyd-Jones, Packer, Edwards, Baxter, Puritans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

