Most Preaching Are Distance Memory, Few Have Stuck.

SERMONS THAT HAVE HAD A SPIRITUAL IMPACT UPON MY LIFE

My Dad, my pastor for 17 years

Some sermons are distance memory. I have heard sermons for 63 years. And I must say most are distance memory.  Most had little effect upon life.  I do remember sermons that were so bad that I remember them.  I will not mention those.  Some sermons I can remember their stories but not the sermons. I can remember hearing a lot of preachers preach that I thought was fun, or dry and just boring. But some sermons have had an impact upon by life to this day.

But some sermons I can remember as far back as 55 years, and have forgotten sermons I heard a month ago.

I thank back and remember my Dad’s sermons on “BUT GOD.” There are several sermons he preached that are still in my mind. His sermons were lived outside the church building, which made his sermons believable.

I have a vivid imagery of the sermon that John Leland preached when I was six years old. “The Blackout at Calvary.”

Black Out At Calvary

I have a vivid imagery of the lesson that Dr. Marr taught on Revelation with his 14 feet chart, back when I was 12 years old.

I remember the passages of scripture that Bob Barber preached from Philippians 1:21 back in Danville Virginia when I was 17 years old.

I can remember Tom Malone sermon on hell at fellowship meetings.

I can remember some preachers who had great outlines: Raymond Barber, Gene Arnold, and my favored  was Wayne Martin.

I remember sermons that were good and clear, but the mark seemed to be made by God’s Spirit putting a finger on my heart and life.

John has taught me how to preach and to understand the Word of God

When I listen to John MacArthur’s sermons the passage just becomes so obvious and logical.

Some sermons I have heard I could not tell you the passage at all but had such a impact on my life.

I grew up listen to Dr. Greene, learned a lot from his teaching

We cannot as preachers manufacture or should not  try to construct a divine touch. Only Christ can do that, we are totally absolutely dependent on God and the Holy Spirit to do what we cannot do in the hearts of those who hear us.

We should as preacher work  pray and in our pursuit on being a good stewards of our  preaching and teaching ministry , we should try to be present a  good and clear message. We should be passionate with our preaching. We pray that the Lord will touch someone’s heart while we are delivering the message. But also need to remember it isn’t just up to you and me at all. 

 

 

About Charles e Whisnant

Youth Pastor since 1964.Pastor/Teacher 1971-74, 1980-2001, 2008-2015. Seminary, College, On line training, 50 years of study. A student of of the Bible. Expositional in my teaching. Married for 45 years. Four children and three granddaughter. Currently pastor - teacher in Minford, Ohio. No published books. No TV program. Favorite preachers Spurgeon, Calvin, MacArthur, Lloyd-Jones, Packer, Edwards, Baxter, Puritans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Most Preaching Are Distance Memory, Few Have Stuck.

  1. Caleb Kolstad says:

    Prayer is key!

Leave a Reply

