Study of the Bible

I enjoy the ministry of preaching and teaching.  Last night at Rivers of Joy Baptist in Minford Ohio, I had the joy of teaching from Daniel 7 again. My 25th lesson from Daniel.  While I enjoyed teaching, and enjoying the people who were listening, I enjoyed the fellowship as well.

I really enjoy the preparation of the lesson.

Study Office

Charles e Whisnant 1985 church study office at First Bapitst Church, Altoona, Kansas

Back in the day we had books to study from. I would have dozens of books that I would read from.  I really enjoy reading as well.  Well in 2003 I logged on to AOL for the first time and the rest is history.  While I was not in the pastorate I started a three year study of Theology and Church ministry.   Monergism.com and Calvary Chapel churches (600).

Then in July 2008 I began the ministry at Rivers of Joy.  I started teaching 1 Thessalonian and completed the first three chapters.  Then I started Romans, which I am currently teaching (chapter 8:1) and Sunday Evening I am in Philippians chapter 4)

Sunday Bible study I have been in Proverbs off and on, I am currently in chapter 14. Wednesday I have jumped from one topic to another.  I taught on a series of Prayer.

I enjoy during the week getting into the Word and reading and studying. Back in the days when I was in Altoona, Kansas at the FBC I had a totally different method of study.  Those were pre internet days, and I did a lot of reading.  I was really learning how to study. After sixteen years I was beginning to get an idea how to prepare a sermon.

Then a series on Genesis 1 thru 3 on Beginnings.  God and Science.  I loved that series and a lot of research. I used John MacArthur matters as a basis, but I research so much of the material, this was a wonderful experience.

About Charles e Whisnant

Youth Pastor since 1964.Pastor/Teacher 1971-74, 1980-2001, 2008-2015. Seminary, College, On line training, 50 years of study. A student of of the Bible. Expositional in my teaching. Married for 45 years. Four children and three granddaughter. Currently pastor - teacher in Minford, Ohio. No published books. No TV program. Favorite preachers Spurgeon, Calvin, MacArthur, Lloyd-Jones, Packer, Edwards, Baxter, Puritans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

