Sermon Preparation

Charles e Whisnant, November 15 2011 in home study office.

You can be sure this report is from my experience of sermon preparation. I have not mastered the art. I am indebted to those whom I have learned from. I am still very critical of my preaching and study. I am most sure of what I am preaching is truth. Why? I believe I am learning from those who I totally trust.  I take the position of not one person, but a number of theologians, pastors, teachers from those in the 100 A.D. to 1500’s and those today as well.  If I am not myself sure I will say so.

Sermon preparation is more than just reading the Bible? Of course that would really be good to do.  You would be surprise how many preachers really don’t spend a lot of time in the Word.

In today’s technology there is no reason why preachers should ever be ignorant of the Word of God.  While in the 20th century we had books to study from. In the 21st we have the websites.  

In the early days I would list to 100’s of sermons on tape. Today you can listen to sermons on the web.

Books and Bibles.  Having a Bible in every room. Having a dozen or so Bibles in our study was normal.  Reading daily and marking passages was great.  Today you can go on the web and listen to the reading of the Bible.

In our early days of ministry we had no internet, of course. It was only in 2003 that I personally was able to get the internet. Boy did that change things and study.  Of course I had the old pen and paper routine.  I did finally get the IBM typewriter. I even took typing in school and in seminary.   I didn’t take spelling.  That was a mistake. I didn’t even take writing, that would have been a blessing.

But with today’s tech we can find just about anything on the web. Thank the Lord for that. (for us old guys who did not learn in our early years.)

These are the books I am using in by study of Romans

I was reading about John MacArthur sermon preparation.  I need to post that article.  But he said he reads a lot of books on the subject that he is going to teach.  Charles Spurgeon would read 50 books on a text that he was going to use the next Sunday.

We need to take time to study God’s Word. We need get to know the Lord. We need to get to know the Word.  Taking the time to know Jesus Christ, His Word, and know how He thinks about everything is imporant.

We need to read sermons, listen to sermons and study from those who know how to preach. And then we need to learn how to deliver a message.  Also we need to know that people listen to us preach because they like us. Preacher you like you are more likely to listen to listen to them.

Charles study notes from the message from Philippians 4:6. I used in July 1993 at First Baptist Church in Altoona, Kansas

About Charles e Whisnant

Youth Pastor since 1964.Pastor/Teacher 1971-74, 1980-2001, 2008-2015. Seminary, College, On line training, 50 years of study. A student of of the Bible. Expositional in my teaching. Married for 45 years. Four children and three granddaughter. Currently pastor - teacher in Minford, Ohio. No published books. No TV program. Favorite preachers Spurgeon, Calvin, MacArthur, Lloyd-Jones, Packer, Edwards, Baxter, Puritans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

