Is It God or Man?

I can rant on my blogs.

I am challenge every time I read the Bible.  There are many who are 100% smarter than I am.  I read what others are saying so that I might learn too.

But in the end I listen to John MacArthur, and D. Martyn Lloyd-Jones for my final thoughts.  Oh I know what you are saying, I should listen to the Holy Spirit.  Well of course, but the Holy Spirit usually gets it right. I don’t.

So just don’t get this message about the work of God in the lives of mankind. I am not sure any of us humans really do.  But this I believe, all things begin with God.

I have been reading this week that the Southern Baptist have had a time with the issue of Calvinism.  Does God save a man or does man save himself?

There have been a lot of strawman arguments from both sides.  They put out a pleas for exegetically based arguments.  They all use scripture to prove their point.

One of the questions that I would ask:  Do all people have an equal ability to respond to the Gospel?  Of the 8 billion people on the planet earth, have an equal ability to respond to the preaching of the gospel?

DO WE CONTROL OUR DESTINY OR DO UNSEEN FORCES MANIPULATE US?  

I was watching the film, The Adjustment Bureau, interesting to say the least.  Can man control their own destiny?  Do we have the ability to do what we want and when we want?  Are we on a predetermined path or is all fate?

This debate has been around for 2000 years I am sure.  I am sure I can not change the opinion of others.  As a matter of fact I am not even trying.  I am trying to convince myself one way or the other.

It is interesting that come believe T but not U and come don’t believe L or I but they all believe P.

Many are very passionate about what they believe and that is okay.  But the fact remains there is only one right answer, and we are all trying to arrive at that point.

I have become comfortable with my position and believe that its okay to believe that salvation starts with God.

The Bible comes first, then comes theology.  When we look at the Bible, do we see Calvinism?

Theology is an understanding of what the Bible is teaching. Your theology will be what the Bible direct us to understand.

About Charles e Whisnant

Youth Pastor since 1964.Pastor/Teacher 1971-74, 1980-2001, 2008-2015. Seminary, College, On line training, 50 years of study. A student of of the Bible. Expositional in my teaching. Married for 45 years. Four children and three granddaughter. Currently pastor - teacher in Minford, Ohio. No published books. No TV program. Favorite preachers Spurgeon, Calvin, MacArthur, Lloyd-Jones, Packer, Edwards, Baxter, Puritans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

